IPPS Admin

IPPS Online Seminar Series 2021

The International Parasitic Plant Society is pleased to host the first IPPS Online Seminar Series. International scientific exchange on the basis of regular society meetings and conferences is hindered by the Covid19 pandemic. The IPPS Online Seminar Series offers Society members an opportunity to learn about the most recent developments in parasitic plant research from leading scientists in the field, discuss with them and exchange with other members on a regular basis.


The IPPS Online Seminar will take place at 3:00 PM GMT (i.e., 8:00 AM Los Angeles, 10:00 AM Bogota/Brasilia, 11:00 AM New York/Santiago, 4:00 PM Abuja/London, 5:00 PM Amsterdam/Berlin/Cape Town, 6:00 PM Nairobi/Tel Aviv, 11:00 PM Beijing, next day 12:00 AM Tokio, next day 01:00 AM Canberra) of every first Wednesday of a month from May through December 2021, featuring two invited speakers per session. Each invited talk will be 30 minutes in length, followed by a 15 minute-discussion with the audience. All session will be hosted as a Zoom seminar such that speakers and audience can interact on various levels, be it visually and orally, by chat, or in showing icon-based reactions. The Zoom link can be accessed from the IPPS Members-only Area. PIs are welcome to share the seminar link with their lab!


Seminar schedule

SpeakerTitleDate
Kateřina Knotková (CZ)Interactions between and parasitic plants and invasive hosts: the experimental evidence01 Dec 2021
Emily Bellis (US)Evolution of parasitic plant-host interactions from gene to continent scales
Salim Al-Babili (SA)Harnessing hormones and signaling molecules for combating Striga03 Nov 2021
Stephane Munoz (FR)To be announced
Thomas Spallek (DE)Signaling between Phtheirospermum and Arabidopsis06 Oct 2021
Immaculate Mwangangi (UK)To be announced
Nicoleta Muchira, Damaris Odeny (KE)What we know about Sorghum-Striga interactions01 Sep 2021
Soyon Park (US)Molecular host-parasite interactions
Min-Yao Jhu (US)CcLBD25 functions as a key regulator of haustorium development in Cuscuta campestris04 Aug 2021
Francisco Fontúrbel (CL)Cascade impacts of climate change on ecological interactions: lessons from a keystone mistletoe
Jim Westwood, Vivian Bernal (US)An artificial host system for growing and studying Cuscuta07 Jul 2021
Natalia Pabón-Mora (CO)Natural history and genomics in Pilostyles (Apodanthaceae), the smallest endoholoparasitic plants on Earth
Jianqiang Wu (CN)Interactions between hosts and parasitic plant Cuscuta (dodder)02 Jun 2021
Songkui Cui (JP)Host infection is mediated by ethylene signaling in the parasitic plant
Harro Boumeester (NL)The role of rhizosphere signaling in the host-parasitic plant interaction12 May 2021
Julie Scholes (UK)Can Receptor-Like Protein (RLP) resistance genes in rice provide protection against Striga hermonthica?